The All progressives Congress(APC) has approved the formation and constitution of a National Peace and Reconciliation Committee for each of the six geopolitical zones in the country.


Why were the committees set up?

The committees were constituted by the National Working committee of the APC  to address post primary elections disputes witnessed across the federation.



Aftermath of the just concluded primaries has been ridden with displeasures from party members bordering on the outcome of the process.

Thus these reconciliation committees would be charged with the duty of investigating these issues with the aim of proferring permanent solutions to them.

Each committee is also headed by a state governor from a different zone who is expected to work assidiously with members in resolving the crises.

On the other hand,  it was established that the committees are only to profer solutions and not change the candidates approved by the party for the 2019 election.


On the issues trailing the primaries

Party members who have shown displeasure over the outcome of the primaries include Governor of Ogun state, Ibikunle Amosun; Governor of Zamfara state Abdulaziz Yari and Governor of Imo state, Rochas Okorocha amomg others. According to them, their candidates for governoship seats in each state were not recognised or given fair oppprtunities.

Also in October, nine governors of the party stormed the Presidential Villa, Abuja to protest alleged attempts by the party’s national leadership to undermine the stability of the party in their respective states.

It was gathered that the governors, accused Oshiomhole, of undermining them and encouraging electoral fraud in the primaries.


The full list of members

The reconciliation committees for the six geopolitical zones include:

1. Abdullahi Ganduje (chairman)
2. Samuel Lalong
3. Kayode Fayemi
4. Godswill Akpabio
5. Umaru Dembo
6. Nasiru Aliko Koki
7. Ify Ugo Okoye

1. Ibrahim Geidam (chairman)
2. Godwin Obaseki
3. Rotimi Akeredolu
4. Jibrilla Bindow
5. Pius Akinyelure
6. Vivian Chukwuani
7. Audu Ogbe

1. Kashim Shettima (chairman)
2. Nasir el-Rufai
3. Akinwumi Ambode
4. Modupe Adelabu
5. Dakuku Peterside
6. Ken Nnamani
7. Seida Bugaje

1. Abiola Ajimobi (chairman)
2. Mohammed Abdullahi Abubakar
3. Yahaya Bello
4. Adamu Aliero
5. Danjuma Goje
6. Jim Nwobodo
7. Fati Balla

1. Rauf Aregbesola (chairman)
2. Atiku Bagudu
3. Abubakar Sani Bello
4. Gbemisola Saraki
5. Emeka Wogu
6. Sullivan Chime
7. Aleluchi Cookey-Gam

1. Umaru Tanko Al-Makura (chairman)
2. Aminu Masari
3. Abubakar Badaru
4. Jumoke Anifowoshe
5. Matthew Omegara
6. Hafsat Mohammed Baba
7. Abdullahi Aboki

Facebook Comments