The Ogun State APC will unveil its list of consensus candidates for forty(40) elective positions in the state on Monday.

This was announced by state Governor, Ibikunle Amosun on Saturday.

The list include the governorship candidate, Adekunle Akinlade, and his running mate

Mrs Peju Adebajo, Amosun’s Commissioner for Agriculture, from Sagamu.

Amosun said the candidates were picked through a consensus method allowed by the constitution of the party, but added that whoever that is not comfortable with the arrangement was at liberty to contest it at a “direct primary” to be organised the party on the set date.

The Governor spoke at the Government House, Isale–Igbein, Abeokuta, the Ogun State capital, while addressing party members from Ogun East and Ogun West shortly after the former had adopted the candidature of Hon. Akinlade as the party’s governorship candidate.

Chairman of the party, Chief Derin Adebiyi, used the occasion to announce Mrs Peju Adebajo as Akinlade’s running mate.

Amosun recalled that some people who joined APC in the state in mid afternoon, were accepted in the spirit of “magnanimity” but said such people do not want to follow the right procedure in dealing with issues in the party.

He noted that he met the party in “carcass” in Ogun State and had to build it to the attractive APC it has become, wondering if he had left it unattended to, whether such people would have a place to run to today.

Facebook Comments