Thirteen (13) local government chairmen elected on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Nigeria’s ruling party, defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Nigeria’s main opposition party in Benue state.

Political Stew reports that the development is coming three (3) days after the governor of the state; Samuel Ortom decamped to the PDP.

Below are the names of the defectors and their local government areas:

  1. Anthony Shawon (Guma)
  2. Justina Sorka (Buruku)
  3. Mwuese Ubebe (Konshisha)
  4. Blessing Unogwo (Ado Ado)
  5. Virginia Kpindi (Katsina-Ala)
  6. George Alli (Otukpo)
  7. Comfort Echeoda (Agatu)
  8. Francis Ayaga (Gwer west)
  9. Uaah Vitalis (Gwer east)
  10. Richard Nyajo (Logo)
  11. Ibellogo Tor (Tyokaa- Ukum)
  12. Adakole Abutu (Ohimini)
  13. Peter Onche (Obi).

The development means PDP is now the leading party in Benue since it controls two (2) senatorial districts, twenty-two (22) state constituencies, thirteen (13) local government areas and the governorship seat.

Facebook Comments