The candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC Gboyega Oyetola has been declared winner of the 2018 Governorship election in the state.

The election, which according to reports was marred with cases of highhandedness from security officials saw the candidate of the APC emerging victorious after the rerun.

An initial election was held on Saturday with PDP’s Ademola Adeleke leading with 345 votes.

Thursday’s rerun saw Oyetola’s total votes now standing at 255,505 while Adeleke polled 255,023. APC had 1,160 votes during the rerun, while PDP had 325 votes.

The PDP has cried foul of the result saying its members were never allowed to vote in the election.

National Chairman of the party, Uche Secondus said;

“This is not a free and fair election. Osun state is under siege; we are at war in Osun. They didn’t allow my party to vote,” he said.

Also speaking, Adeleke said “it’s only APC people they allowed to vote. INEC and security agents have compromised. So, there is no election in Osun today. I urge INEC to cancel the election with immediate effect and declare me the winner because I’ve already won the election.”


Facebook Comments