Senator Smart Adeyemi, a former lawmaker representing Kogi West Senatorial district has won the ticket to represent the All Progressives Congress, APC in the 2019 elections.

Adeyemi will be vying against his opposition in 2015, Dino Melaye who pipped him to a seat at the upper chambers of the National Assembly.

The Kabba-born Senator emerged victorious in the primary election which was held in his hometown, Kabba.

At the APC primary on Thursday, Bonnie Eneh, chairman of the committee that coordinated the election, said 1,893 votes were recorded at the exercise held at Kabba.

He said 13 votes were voided.

Eneh announced that Adeyemi polled 1,659 to defeat Toyin Akanle who polled 104 votes.

For Kogi east, Jibrin Isah scored 2,469 votes to defeat Yahaya Audu who polled 308 votes.

In Kogi central, Yakubu Oseni polled 1,100 votes to emerge the winner.

Oseni defeated Sheriff Dalhatu who polled 371 votes. Nurudeen Abatemi scored 160 votes, Kabir Ajanah  had 32 votes and Yahaya Haruna, a former ADC to Adams Oshiomhole, the national chairman of the APC scored 12 votes.

Adeyemi will be carrying the APC’s flag in the 2019 elections, as against 2015 when it was the exact reverse. Melaye had flown the APC’s flag in 2015 but will be representing the PDP in the 2019 election.

Facebook Comments